Photographer based in Shah Alam, Malaysia

The story of “Nadia & Mudzakir, re-inventing my style”

Assalamualaikum all.

I’m tired. Mentally & physically. Several deadlines were passed, old work need to be done, last minute shoot requested & outstation jobs looming in the near future.

The good thing that come out of it is my natural instinct came out. In full force. Sink or swim. Being overwhelmed by fab postings from Jenny Sun, Jasmine Star, The Wedding Story team & even videos fromGreg’sVideo. Close friends like Hafiz Ismail & Black Punk5Hitam also push me to be better.

To be frank, sometimes I’m frustrated with myself after a wedding shoot. Blame it on the equipment (lack of lens), weather (lighting not good), bride & groom (not giving cooperation), wedding schedule (finish too late, limited time for post wedding shoot)….but in the end the fault is entirely mine. The single biggest hurdle is youself. If you’re good enough, you WILL get the SHOT in any circumstances, in any condition.

Last week I did my pDNA assessment. It comes with the Fast Track Photographer book (highly recommended by Louis Pang!). To finish 208 questions took me a day and a half. Looking at the result, I know myself better now. Among the results, I know that I really absorb things from other photographers/designers. I’m not a self starter, so getting the vibe from other people is essential. Copying other people style and assimilating it with your own is what I did for the past several years.

Last Saturday, I second shoot for Lisa (enchantedFOREST photographer) during Nadia & Mudzakir’s nikah & reception in Kampung Hulu Buaya, Sungai Buloh. the weather is HOT and dry. I drink more than 15 glasses of water that day. Armed with my new 85mm f1.8 & 24mm f1.8 lenses (the 10-20mm & 80-200 played a small part over the course of the shoot), I set to revamp my shooting style. Back home, I edit the pictures witha a vengeance. Using the under-utilized Totally Rad actions (and several homemade ones), I set to integrate the teachings of my photoshop master like Kukubesi, Didiz, Louis Pang & Adhadi.

I don’t know whether this is good enough. But I will not rest until people starts to acknowldge me. Enjoy the pics!

02

03

04

05

06

07

09

10

11

12

13

14

15

01

7 responses

  1. jz dropping by…. nice photos…

    June 2, 2009 at 5:30 am

  2. here’s to the worthwhile journey of climbing our personal everests, and believing in ourselves every step of the way. =)

    June 2, 2009 at 5:48 am

  3. Jeff: Thanks man.

    Steph: A toast to us! dont forget our promise aaa..wanna try shooting with manny librodo’s protege..hehehe

    June 2, 2009 at 6:43 am

  4. bob

    aku suka candid ko bro.. esp gambar budak perempuan mengendap kat tepi pengantin.. lovely!!! teruskan kerja keras anda..

    June 4, 2009 at 5:06 pm

  5. I think it’s time for you to think about delegation. You can’t do the work all on your own. One of the characteristic of an efficient manager is able to delegate. Correct me if I’m wrong. Just my 2 cents

    June 5, 2009 at 1:49 am

  6. Hey the shots are looking good. Everyone goes through times when they feel that way. It’s great that you are looking to constantly improve yourself. Keep it up!!!

    June 16, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    • Thanks Grace. Remember to call me for any shoots in Bangladesh! Hehehe

      June 17, 2009 at 2:14 am

Leave a Reply

